Sunday 11 April

Trio Élan

“Sarah Watkins spun textures of exemplary clarity”
(William Dart, NZ Herald)


Russ Peterson: Trio for Alto Saxophone, Violin & Piano
Peter Liley: Deux Images for Trio
Claude Debussy: Violin Sonata in G minor
Marc Eychenne: Cantilène and Dance
Gareth Farr: Meditation (saxophone and piano)
Astor Piazzolla: Otoño Porteño
Gareth Farr: Tango: Un Verano de Passion

Donald Armstrong (violin), Sarah Watkins (piano), Simon Brew (saxopohone)

This is sure to be fun. Three highly experienced musicians combine their considerable skills to present a programme for the unusual combination of violin, saxophone and piano, and we can expect to be entertained by a variety of colourful music from France, New Zealand, Argentina and the United States. Donald Armstrong needs no introduction in Waikanae, Sarah Watkins is highly regarded as a fine collaborative pianist, and Simon Brew, who has played for us in the past with Saxcess and Tango Virtuosi, is one of New Zealand most successful saxophonists.

The programme opens with an energetic Trio by American composer, saxophonist and bassoonist Russ Peterson. Peter Liley’s Deux Images is a miniature introducing us to the work of this young NZ composer. That will be followed by the major work of the day – Debussy’s astonishingly beautiful Violin Sonata.

Debussy and Ravel’s use of the magical sound of the saxophone has influenced later composers such as Algerian-born Marc Eychenne whose evocative and beguiling Cantilène and Dance we will hear next. Popular New Zealand composer Gareth Farr contributes a lyrical Meditation and a toe-tapping Tango. And from Argentina’s greatest master of Tango – Piazzolla – experience the yearning nostalgia of Otoño Porteño (Autumn in Buenos Aires).

This concert is presented in association with Chamber Music New Zealand. The CMNZ Regional Series is supported by the Deane Endowment Trust Artist Development Fund.